1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some help selecting a big cutoff switch.

Discussion in '12V Electronics' started by Lonesome7.3, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. That Crazy Squirrel

    That Crazy Squirrel I'm too LAZY to Choose a ... oh fuck it...

    Posts:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    N/A
    Probably not a good idea, and I'll explain why:

    You'd have to wire it so the relay/solenoid is only energized when the winch is going to be used, but the current draw of the winch being used will probably cause enough voltage drop to make the relay drop out. Net result? Chattering and arcing which will quickly destroy the relay.

    Now, if it's a dual battery system, and the two batteries are isolated, then the relay can go on one and the winch on the other.
     
  2. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,045
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    Y'all don't use fuses?
    It's no different than sub/amp wiring...
     
  3. Lonesome7.3

    Lonesome7.3 By whatever means necessary …

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    I want to keep it simple, but I do kind of like the idea of a small wire in the cab instead.
     
  4. Carneyman

    Carneyman TMC Dog Watcher

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    Odessa, Tx
    We don't need no stinkin fuses.
     
  5. Lonesome7.3

    Lonesome7.3 By whatever means necessary …

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    I look into the solenoid thing a bit further. I was trying to keep it simple, but a single power wire running into the cab sounds easier to install. If I do go that route, I am guessing I do not need a fuse.
     
  6. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,045
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    You should always run fuses...
     
  7. Lonesome7.3

    Lonesome7.3 By whatever means necessary …

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    What type of solenoid should I use? Where in the line should the fuse be? In the wire to the switch? Or do I run a large one on the cable?
     
  8. Draenor

    Draenor KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!

    Posts:
    6,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Now in Scott,LA
    Solenoids usually are for high amperage applications and are not fused. If you were to use on it will need to be rated pretty high.

    You can always run a fused circuit to the switch lead.
     
  9. Lonesome7.3

    Lonesome7.3 By whatever means necessary …

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
  10. Draenor

    Draenor KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!

    Posts:
    6,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Now in Scott,LA
    I don't see why it shouldn't.
     

Share This Page