HID problems

thunderstruck

This message exists only to take up space.
Joined
May 26, 2009
Posts
1,683
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
That's what happens when you run HIDs in halogen housings. I remember my HIDs looked like that, but I never realized that it was that bad until I put the stock bulbs back in.
 

Boilerup15

Hate Milk! Got Beer?
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Posts
7,022
Reaction score
0
Location
Markle, Indiana
I have no suggestions short of putting the stock lights back in. You know the more of these threads I read the happier I am that I never swapped to HID's.

Sent from the mobile headquarters of Bulldog Car Care.
I have had HID's in two vehicles. I honestly love them and am buying some for my bike next. I know there are lots of threads about people having problems, I think some might be user error, not in this case though.

I would try taking the bulbs out and re-installing them. Maybe they just are not seeded correctly. :dunno:
 

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
I have no suggestions short of putting the stock lights back in. You know the more of these threads I read the happier I am that I never swapped to HID's.

Sent from the mobile headquarters of Bulldog Car Care.
I have had HID's in two vehicles. I honestly love them and am buying some for my bike next. I know there are lots of threads about people having problems, I think some might be user error, not in this case though.

I would try taking the bulbs out and re-installing them. Maybe they just are not seeded correctly. :dunno:


And your truck is one of the worst for just slapping them in... Try coming from the other direction with someone driving your truck, or having it sitting on the road.
 

junior3815

Get 'em, Got 'em, Good
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Posts
2,893
Reaction score
0
Location
Fuquay-Varina, NC
It didn't do this with stock housing so i dont understand why it is doing it now. ive moved the bulbs multiple time to no effect. should i mess with the adjuster screws?
 

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
It didn't do this with stock housing so i dont understand why it is doing it now. ive moved the bulbs multiple time to no effect. should i mess with the adjuster screws?


The housing still isn't designed for HID's.

The extra heat may have deformed the reflector bowl.

A lot of aftermarket halogen housings aren't built as well as factory, so excess heat can be very bad for them.
 

junior3815

Get 'em, Got 'em, Good
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Posts
2,893
Reaction score
0
Location
Fuquay-Varina, NC
But they have done it since the housing were BRAND NEW. I think the reflector in front of the bulb might be the problem.
 

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
But they have done it since the housing were BRAND NEW. I think the reflector in front of the bulb might be the problem.


If they've done it since brand new and does it with ONLY HID's then the housing is NOT HID compatible... Most reflectors make a poor place for HID's.
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,729
Posts
1,103,014
Members
4,702
Latest member
Wendell
Back
Top