Wiring Schematics?

dkwelder

"God Created Man,Sam Colt Made Them Equal"
Joined
Oct 7, 2011
Posts
128
Reaction score
0
Location
Bergen, North Dakota
Hello to all ! Has anyone had any rewire projects with engine and cab harness replacement? If so, could you tell me if it would be ok to splice the old plug connector ( for moduals, ect ) onto a similar wire harness ( one year different ) with the same colors ? The plug connector is used for the same thing, just a little different plug size and shape .Same number of wires and colors. Thanks Darin
 

Zembonez

живи свободно или умри
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 17, 2009
Posts
57,293
Reaction score
35
Re: Wiring Schematics ?

Scottyboy should have some sort of answer here. Hopefully he'll see it soon.
 

dkwelder

"God Created Man,Sam Colt Made Them Equal"
Joined
Oct 7, 2011
Posts
128
Reaction score
0
Location
Bergen, North Dakota
Re: Wiring Schematics ?

Hello J-rod: ScottyBoy contacted me and he said he didnt have the full schematics that would be able to help me out. ScottyBoy did have schematics for the Alarm system instal.
 

dkwelder

"God Created Man,Sam Colt Made Them Equal"
Joined
Oct 7, 2011
Posts
128
Reaction score
0
Location
Bergen, North Dakota
Re: Wiring Schematics ?

Sorry about that Zembonez! You kinda looked like J-rod ! are you two related ?,lol
 

buRRp

Moderator
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Posts
39,869
Reaction score
443
Location
Crookston, MN
:welcome: Hope you get you question answered. Looks like you will fit in around here real good with that comment. :thumbs: Hope you stick around, this is a fun place. :thumbs:
 

ScottyBoy

No, that's not a banana in my pants.
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Posts
13,668
Reaction score
3
Location
Shreveport
Re: Wiring Schematics ?

I don't see any reason why splicing a new connector on would not work. :dunno:
Especially if its the same number and color wires and used for the same thing, but the only difference is the size or shape of the connector.
I actually did that when I installed 2004 power Seats in my 2001 Suburban. The connectors were different so I just spliced in the one from the truck my seats came out of. Worked fine.
 

64shortbed

TMC 2013 NASCAR CHAMPION,
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Posts
1,024
Reaction score
0
Location
scott city, ks
I'd say you should be fine. the fun part is when you take a truck like my 64 gmc. Remove the inline 6 that had points and a generator and put a small block in it with HEI and a altanater (single wire). It was not had but had to find what wire went were because i took the truck apart 5 years or so ago?? :ohnoes:
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,722
Posts
1,102,587
Members
4,692
Latest member
Mrjvieira
Back
Top