1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 upgrades on the cheap!!!

Discussion in 'Internet & Computers' started by daddy, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. Nick The Great

    Nick The Great The lead sled dog is the only one with a decent vi

    Posts:
    13,298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    It's not heaven . . . it's Iowa!
    Hmmm . . . maybe I should do this. I would think all my hardware and software would be compatible/capable of it.

    I have XP Pro now and have resisted Vista so far. But I've heard a lot of good about Win 7.
     
  2. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,986
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    worst mistake ever was my vista laptop, but I will say with norton 2009 it seems a lot faster then it was with CA Home antivrus....
     
  3. omegafiler

    omegafiler Don't run, we come in peace.

    Posts:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    You can also run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor on your system first. It'll check your HW to make sure everything is compatible before you install it. This is also in Beta, but should work well enough.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/upgrade-advisor.aspx
     
  4. Nick The Great

    Nick The Great The lead sled dog is the only one with a decent vi

    Posts:
    13,298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    It's not heaven . . . it's Iowa!
    Thanks! I figured there was something like that out there. :thumbs:

    I built the system 2 years ago, and everything was pretty good at the time . . . But I'm always looking for an excuse to upgrade something. :pimp:
     
  5. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Ordered up the Pro version for myself. Cool!
     
  6. Dukers

    Dukers I Need to Choose a Second Topping!!!

    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    yeah ive always just used XP....

    its leet. I like it. I'll pick up Win7 and put it on my spare computer that I built a little while ago. its pretty decent but it just sits here unused.
     
  7. svensk

    svensk TMC's official Zombie Slayer

    Posts:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    You betcha
    I think apple would care that my hacintosh runs OSX pretty darn good. I don't have to spend 4x the money on their over priced hardware now.
     
  8. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,986
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    I'm running the advisor now...
     
  9. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,986
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    ok what are you guys with 7 running for anitvirus...I have been reading about support issues with antivirus for it...
     
  10. LMSeven

    LMSeven Μολών λαβέ

    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Across the Neighbors
    Bull Guard. When you install W7 the action center has a link to windows for what they recommend and recognize as legit and compatible. AVG Norton Panda Mcafee trend micro and kaspersky are the ones I can think of off hand.

    FWIW Kaspersky bogged my internets from hell. I'm running Bull Guard now and it's as fast as it was on XP. It has a live firewall and all. Not too bad for a free program.
     

Share This Page