1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spyware Program?

Discussion in 'Internet & Computers' started by dietz4ibanez, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. Darkanion

    Darkanion The space intentionally left blank.

    Posts:
    41,079
    Likes Received:
    308
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    North Texas
    :withstupid:
     
  2. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Norton versions created after 2007 use about 80% less resources than older ones. They changed the detection language in their software and it isn't anywhere near as invasive. I still use Symantec's corporate edition AV and Firewall but the damn firewall can get a little sensitive and block stuff you want to go to... which gets annoying at times. Never had any issues though!
     
  3. Hickspanic

    Hickspanic There once was a man from Nantucket

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    D-ville
    I just use a good old-fashioned foil hat on my computer.:D
     
  4. Darkanion

    Darkanion The space intentionally left blank.

    Posts:
    41,079
    Likes Received:
    308
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    North Texas
    Good to know. It was around 2007, I think, when I gave up on Symantec's AV and Firewall..
     
  5. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    They used to suck resources... and that was back when many machines were running 256 - 512 MB of ram. Now with 8 gig of much faster ram, my machine is using about 10% or it's memory with several apps open. Thank goodness for modern gizmos!
     
  6. Draenor

    Draenor KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!

    Posts:
    5,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Now in Scott,LA
    Strange, My 'ol man just put it(the newest version at the time) on his PC late last year. It is dog as slow now.
     
  7. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    I have the latest version on my machines including laptops and they fly. If he's running anything less than a gig of ram I wouldn't recommend it though.
     
  9. Draenor

    Draenor KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!

    Posts:
    5,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Now in Scott,LA
    I thought the same when I first looked at it. He was running 1g, but I bumped him up to 4 and no change. :dunno:

    He is completely paranoid about getting a virus and wont let me tweak/clean his system to run better.
     
  10. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    I'd bet a defrag and registry cleanup would do wonders.
     

Share This Page