1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Processor Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Internet & Computers' started by Zembonez, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Hey Boys n Girls.

    I'm building a bunch of new work stations for our company and I'd like to hear what kind of processor you would use if you were building.

    All will have 4Gig of RAM / 500 Gig HD / Good video cards, etc. Probably going with Asus for motherboards. These will be running XP Pro since the proprietary company software likes it.

    INPUT?
     
  2. mr_bots

    mr_bots People in glass houses sink ships

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    9,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Kickass
    i7
     
  3. Carneyman

    Carneyman TMC Dog Watcher

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    Odessa, Tx
    i7
     
  4. dietz4ibanez

    dietz4ibanez Slowly going the way of the Buffalo

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    25,785
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Willow Spring, NC
    i7
     
  5. LMSeven

    LMSeven Μολών λαβέ

    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Across the Neighbors
    Pentium 2
     
  6. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Thanks LM. I'm on it.

    Realize these are not going to be loser gamer machines. They will run company sales software. I want performance without idiotic overkill.
     
  7. Z71_Silvy

    Z71_Silvy I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Then a nice dual-core.....or an AMD triple core. Save some money...
     
  8. Darkanion

    Darkanion The space intentionally left blank.

    Posts:
    41,110
    Likes Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    North Texas
    For work machines, I see no reason to spend a ton of money on i7's.. I'd probably go with Core2Duo's or maybe Core2Quad's, depending on what the budget is..

    Eventually, the sales software will get updated and they may want to move to Win7. I'm running Win7 on a Core2Quad and it runs great. :thumbs:
     
  9. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    I was thinking of AMD stuff myself. But yeah I believe a dual core processor is plenty.

    I'm running this on my home setup... about to build a new one and upgrade though. It would make a good workstation.
    AMD Phenom II X4 810 Deneb 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 4MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor
     
  10. Carneyman

    Carneyman TMC Dog Watcher

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    Odessa, Tx
    Ah yeah. They are plenty pricey. Then yeah a Core2Duo would be overkill, which means it would be just about a month after you get it.
     

Share This Page