1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help, Steering Wheel Buttons, 2007 Silverado

Discussion in 'Tech How To' started by OneSlowRhino, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    25,956
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
    It could be. They had to disable the stock auto start, I suppose.

    I would ditch the Viper, and take it all back to stock
     
  2. OneSlowRhino

    OneSlowRhino I'm NEW... What now?

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Is it possible that only some stuff doesn't work and some does?

    Thins that work.
    I have manual windows.
    Gauges.
    DIC.
    Radio (aftermarket).
    Temperature controls.
    Lights/light switches.
    Horn works.

    Things that don't work.
    Steering wheel buttons.
    -no lights
    -no cruise or cruise light
    -no radio functions

    Traction control button
    Pedal adjustments
    Whatever the third button is.
    -are these buttons still there if my truck was not equipped?

    airbag light is on.

    I no longer have the factory key fob, everything runs off the VIPER. Along with my "auto" door locks. Not sure if those were added.

    I do have the build sheet. It's a work truck with a few factory add ons.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,005
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    And all of it worked before?
    Mayhap the installer borked the BCM, and it finally gave out.

    Double check all the grounds you can find, as well.
     
  4. OneSlowRhino

    OneSlowRhino I'm NEW... What now?

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Not since I have owned it. I was told everything* worked. But I never tested every switch. Was worried about the essentials, didn't think the radio controls would work, but didn't think to try cruise until I was on my way home. I've only owned it for a week.

    -this is just a reminder to myself why I like to buy my vehicles stock and do it myself, didn't realize with 24k miles I'd run into a cluster f*** like this.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  5. OneSlowRhino

    OneSlowRhino I'm NEW... What now?

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Just an update.

    Removed the Air Bag and everything looks good. All fuses look good. It's going into the electronic place to look it over and potentially just remove all the remote start/Viper system.

    Not what I wanted but I need to narrow down my issues.
     
  6. OneSlowRhino

    OneSlowRhino I'm NEW... What now?

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Removed everything beside the aftermarket radio.

    They checked to make sure the radio was hooked up correct.

    And back to square 1....

    It didn't help anything. The same things don't work. Fak.
     
  7. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    25,956
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
    You are going to have to take it to the dealer, it has to be the BCM profile
     
  8. Black02Silverado

    Black02Silverado Sponsor

    Posts:
    20,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Half way between here and there.
    I agree, these new vehicle rely so much on the BCM to make everything work. It wouldn't take much to cause issue. You might want to call the dealer up and just ask how much to have your BCM reflashed. It wouldn't hurt anything and can only help.

    You covered all the bases with making sure the connections are good and all the fuses as well. Never hurts to check all the grounds. Amazing what a bad ground can cause.
     

Share This Page