Need Help, Steering Wheel Buttons, 2007 Silverado

PenguinLTZ

Not a Mod
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
25,028
Reaction score
242
Location
Inland NW
Damn, that's why I was afraid of.

I'm wondering if it has to do with this Viper alarm and shit. Might take it to the local Car Electronics place and see if they can't diagnose anything before I take t to the dealer.

It could be. They had to disable the stock auto start, I suppose.

I would ditch the Viper, and take it all back to stock
 

OneSlowRhino

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Posts
13
Reaction score
0
Is it possible that only some stuff doesn't work and some does?

Thins that work.
I have manual windows.
Gauges.
DIC.
Radio (aftermarket).
Temperature controls.
Lights/light switches.
Horn works.

Things that don't work.
Steering wheel buttons.
-no lights
-no cruise or cruise light
-no radio functions

Traction control button
Pedal adjustments
Whatever the third button is.
-are these buttons still there if my truck was not equipped?

airbag light is on.

I no longer have the factory key fob, everything runs off the VIPER. Along with my "auto" door locks. Not sure if those were added.

I do have the build sheet. It's a work truck with a few factory add ons.

 

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
And all of it worked before?
Mayhap the installer borked the BCM, and it finally gave out.

Double check all the grounds you can find, as well.
 

OneSlowRhino

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Posts
13
Reaction score
0
Not since I have owned it. I was told everything* worked. But I never tested every switch. Was worried about the essentials, didn't think the radio controls would work, but didn't think to try cruise until I was on my way home. I've only owned it for a week.

-this is just a reminder to myself why I like to buy my vehicles stock and do it myself, didn't realize with 24k miles I'd run into a cluster f*** like this.
 
Last edited:

OneSlowRhino

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Posts
13
Reaction score
0
Just an update.

Removed the Air Bag and everything looks good. All fuses look good. It's going into the electronic place to look it over and potentially just remove all the remote start/Viper system.

Not what I wanted but I need to narrow down my issues.
 

OneSlowRhino

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Posts
13
Reaction score
0
Removed everything beside the aftermarket radio.

They checked to make sure the radio was hooked up correct.

And back to square 1....

It didn't help anything. The same things don't work. Fak.
 

PenguinLTZ

Not a Mod
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
25,028
Reaction score
242
Location
Inland NW
Removed everything beside the aftermarket radio.

They checked to make sure the radio was hooked up correct.

And back to square 1....

It didn't help anything. The same things don't work. Fak.

You are going to have to take it to the dealer, it has to be the BCM profile
 

Black02Silverado

Sponsor
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Posts
20,274
Reaction score
243
Location
Half way between here and there.
I agree, these new vehicle rely so much on the BCM to make everything work. It wouldn't take much to cause issue. You might want to call the dealer up and just ask how much to have your BCM reflashed. It wouldn't hurt anything and can only help.

You covered all the bases with making sure the connections are good and all the fuses as well. Never hurts to check all the grounds. Amazing what a bad ground can cause.
 

Staff online

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
28,735
Posts
1,103,127
Members
4,709
Latest member
BeaGeiger9
Back
Top