1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need a new laptop! DUDE I got a Dell!

Discussion in 'Internet & Computers' started by PenguinLTZ, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    24,969
    Likes Received:
    210
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
    I get 3 years out of my laptops. My current Sony is no exception. It is still plenty fast, T7250/4GB Ram/500GB HD BUT

    -Motherboard issue (I guess) at times, it will not start up, I have to actually physically remove the HD, and put it back in, then it starts fine

    -Battery is smoked, so i leave it plugged in, and the power plug on the side is loose and worn, and I constantly lose connection to the power cord.

    So, I am looking at new ones.

    Anybody have, or know about the new Dell XPS Studio 16??

    I have had great luck with Dell and Sony. Thought I might go back to a Dell.

    I don't want to hear anything about Apples. Ya hear me, Tobias?

    :D
     
  2. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Apple will sell you one with half of the features you need for twice the price of a premium PC Laptop.

    Hard to pass up on that. :rolleyes:
     
  3. 07FX4Chick

    07FX4Chick LIFETIME SUPPORTER

    Posts:
    10,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Des Moines, WA
    I have had Dell's and Sony's. Dell's last a lot longer, in my own opinion. I bought a Latitude 830 (through my work) 3 years ago and it is still kicking. The only thing I have done to it is installed more ram and upgraded to Windows 7 Pro :thumbs:

    My next laptop will be AlienWare :D
     
  4. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    I'm having very good luck with the three HP laptops we have . One travels with me daily (has for three years now) and works great. The others are at home, but I've had zero problems. One is almost 4 years old and the other about 6 months. All I've done is upgrade the ram in the oldest one.

    I'm no HP cheerleader but my experience has been much better than I would have expected.
     
  5. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    24,969
    Likes Received:
    210
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
  6. Nick The Great

    Nick The Great The lead sled dog is the only one with a decent vi

    Posts:
    13,298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    It's not heaven . . . it's Iowa!
    We run HP laptops at work (Workstations). They're high end machines, and need to be, in order to run the solid-modeling software we use. But they're lightning fast, reliable, heavy and expensive.

    We bought an Asus netbook 6 months ago. It's a nice little machine. A co-worker bought an Asus laptop and he's also had nothing but good to say about it.

    :dunno:
     
  7. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
  8. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    24,969
    Likes Received:
    210
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
  9. Zembonez

    Zembonez живи свободно или умри

    Posts:
    57,305
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    HP/Compaq merger about 8 or 9 years back made the company a whole 'nother animal. I've always had good luck with Dell's stuff.
     
  10. PenguinLTZ

    PenguinLTZ I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    24,969
    Likes Received:
    210
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    PNW
    Here's a question for you, Jim;
    Is there ANY way to transfer my Win 7 Ultimate (upgrade) to a new laptop with Home Premium?? I have the Vista Ultimate, and W7 Ultimate upgrade disks, so I am wondering if I can do a downgrade/then upgrade on a new machine so I can get the Ultimate on there?

    I like the bitlocker on Ultimate.
     

Share This Page