How to Add Factory Trailer Brake Controller - 2010+ Ram

NMRam

Still Here Because I'm Not There
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Posts
8,477
Reaction score
45
Location
Ft Sumner, NM
So I added the factory trailer brake controller in my 2010 Dodge Ram. It is basically plug and play on the 2010+ Rams.

This mod will not work on 2009 models. It was not a factory option for 09 and they don't have the dual plugs like the 2010+ models.

First I ordered the Trailer Brake Control Module and the trim Bezel. List price on these items was around $170, but the dealership I bought it from gave them to me "at cost" and the total was $121. Also, when I ordered, I asked for the trailer brake control module and was told that they did not sell that. I called back and just gave them the part numbers with no description, and they were able to order it no problem.

Part numbers:
Factory Brake Control Module - 56029431AE
Dark Gray Bezel - 1EB13XDVAA (different colors are different P/N's)
You will also need 3 trim screws (or I used 3 sheet metal screws I had)

To install, you must first take the kick panel under the steering wheel loose. There are two screws at the bottom, then the clips just pop loose when you pull (gently). Next, you must remove the side panel on the dash. It is just held in place with clips, I started the bottom and pryed it up and out.

Once you have these panels off, there are two torx screws that hold the little delete pocket into place, one in front and one on the side. The pocket then pops out. Next you can assemble the controller and bezel. The brake control module slides into the bezel from behind, then there are two screws that hold it in place, one on top and one on the side (I used short metal screws). Once it is together, slide it into place. The plugs for the control are taped up to the main harness under the column. Untape them and plug them in.

Fall2010015.jpg


You can then start the vehicle and make sure everything works (the camera flash doesn't allow the display to show).

Fall2010016.jpg


Fall2010019.jpg


There is also one screw that goes into the side of the trailer brake control module through one of the dash brackets. Once you have that in, put the dash back together, and you now have the factory trailer brake control.

Fall2010022.jpg


For vehicles that have the EVIC in the cluster (mine does not) you will not get the trailer brake information to show up in the display unless you have the dealership reflash the BCM to add the "XHCA" option with the WiTech tool. The display in the cluster will then show the trailer brake controller information (gain, trailer connected, faults, etc). This step is not really necessary as the display on the trailer brake control also shows this information, it is just an option if you want it to work EXACTLY like the one that is factory installed.

This post reflects my experiences in doing this mod, and I will not be held responsible if you try it and fail or ruin your new vehicle.:lol: Enjoy!
 
Last edited:

PenguinLTZ

Not a Mod
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
25,028
Reaction score
242
Location
Inland NW
Too cool. Over on GMT there were a handful of us trying to do this to the '07 GM trucks when the '08 model came out with this. It was miserable expensive we found out, after a ton of research.

I have this in my '09, and it sure is nice.

You will enjoy it, congrats, and nice work and write-up!
 

MS3DALE

Don't bother me...and I won't bother you!
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Posts
771
Reaction score
7
Location
Carmichaels,Pa.
Too cool. Over on GMT there were a handful of us trying to do this to the '07 GM trucks when the '08 model came out with this. It was miserable expensive we found out, after a ton of research.

I have this in my '09, and it sure is nice.

You will enjoy it, congrats, and nice work and write-up!

Yes,we were trying,and not only is it expensive,but it can't be done as we also found out! :(
 

Harley2

Don't Squat With Yer Spurs On
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Posts
316
Reaction score
0
Location
PA
Awesome thanks for sharing we were just looking at a 2010 with this the other day and was wondering about it
 

toyota_mdt_tech

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Posts
3
Reaction score
1
Wayne, I have a 2010 Ram 2500 with the Cummins and I'm installing the exact same deal as you did. Got all factory parts, even the 3 little screws. :thumbs:

I can not for the life of me, find the small 4 pin connector for the brake controller. I assume the larger 4 pin is the same one you would use for the aftermarket controller? It fits the plug. Hey, good info on the EVIC, I didnt want to take it in, or want a bunch of warning messages, so I'd rather leave it off the EVIC. Anyway, if you can tell me where you found the connectors. I have the full install instructions from the dealer, but the picture looks nothing like what I'm after (black and white drawing)

Anyway, where is that 4 pin smaller connector hiding???
 

NMRam

Still Here Because I'm Not There
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Posts
8,477
Reaction score
45
Location
Ft Sumner, NM
Both connectors on mine were just taped up with the wiring harness that runs next to where the controller mounts. I didn't think to take a picture before I got them loose, but they were both taped up right there close to each other.

What is the build date on yours? I heard on one of the Ram forums that some of the very early production 2010 1500 models didn't have the two connectors (they must have used the 2009 wiring harnesses). Since the 2500 models were new in 2010, I would doubt that would be the case.
 

Grizzly660

I'm NEW... What now?
Joined
May 5, 2011
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Your write up and description was great. Part numbers were really helpful. How is you brake controller working? My dealer said he heard some probs with using them as aftermarket but I don't really buy that.
 

NMRam

Still Here Because I'm Not There
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Posts
8,477
Reaction score
45
Location
Ft Sumner, NM
It seems to work fine. I don't know if it has as much gain as an aftermarket unit, it seems like with this unit maxed out it has about as much braking power as my Prodigy (in my last truck) had set on about 6. I haven't had any problems with it, though, and I haven't read about any major issues on the Ram forums I frequent either. Should work fine for you.
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
28,735
Posts
1,103,127
Members
4,709
Latest member
BeaGeiger9
Back
Top