Good Capacitor?

Z71 Kris

Independence...
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
8,984
Reaction score
0
Location
N. East Ohio
I agree with Gregg. Do the big 3 upgrade with at least 2ga wiring, 0ga if you can. What amp and subs are you using? Even though its only 400 watts, since you bridged it now you could be pulling more than twice that. Might wanna upgrade to 4ga power and ground on the amp. But try the big3 upgrade first.

The guy before me left his 4 gauge ground in the truck for the amp... So im using that lol. Im looking for a big 3 kit... Again dont wanna solder lol.

Alljackedup Samsung!!!

make sure it is connected to ground properly...that could be part of the problem..
 

99sierraman

[don'tcha know]
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Posts
358
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesnoowta
Add another battery.

This doubles the load on your alternator. The only thing this will do is increase the time you could listen to your stereo with the key off.

I totally agree that it doubles the load on the alternator but if you set up the battery with an isolation system, you can have the amp draw only current from the second battery. Since the lights and amp are on two different batteries then, the lights will not dim when the amp draws a lot of current.

An example would be the PAC SPR-200.
 

Z71 Kris

Independence...
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
8,984
Reaction score
0
Location
N. East Ohio
Add another battery.

This doubles the load on your alternator. The only thing this will do is increase the time you could listen to your stereo with the key off.

not quite true....

A fully charged good quality AGM battery will only require around 5 additional amps from the alternator, however if you allow your batteries to become discharged from continuously pulling more current than your alternator can produce the batteries can require as much as 20-40A of additional current per battery to bring them back to 100% state of charge. It's important to be aware of your system voltage when the car is off to gauge how full your battery bank is. A resting voltage below 12.8V should be topped off with a good quality AGM charger to keep the bank topped off. This will extend both the life of the batteries, as well as the alternator.

quoted from
 

BHB

I WILL say things that piss you off!!!
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Posts
914
Reaction score
0
Location
Noo Yawk
Add another battery.

This doubles the load on your alternator. The only thing this will do is increase the time you could listen to your stereo with the key off.

I totally agree that it doubles the load on the alternator but if you set up the battery with an isolation system, you can have the amp draw only current from the second battery. Since the lights and amp are on two different batteries then, the lights will not dim when the amp draws a lot of current.

An example would be the PAC SPR-200.

You absolutely have to isolate them somehow. If not, a battery with low, or no charge will pull the voltage out of the charged battery.
I prefer heavy duty solenoids (such as the PAC-SPR200 over isolators.
 

Alljackedup408

Shut Up Stupid
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
12,624
Reaction score
0
Location
Titusville FL
Stuck my fluke on it tonight... Idle it puts out 14.3 volts and when the system hits it drops to 13.7 - 13.8.

This is a TAD low.. but still within the limits.
 

Alljackedup408

Shut Up Stupid
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
12,624
Reaction score
0
Location
Titusville FL
I agree with Gregg. Do the big 3 upgrade with at least 2ga wiring, 0ga if you can. What amp and subs are you using? Even though its only 400 watts, since you bridged it now you could be pulling more than twice that. Might wanna upgrade to 4ga power and ground on the amp. But try the big3 upgrade first.

The guy before me left his 4 gauge ground in the truck for the amp... So im using that lol. Im looking for a big 3 kit... Again dont wanna solder lol.

Alljackedup Samsung!!!

make sure it is connected to ground properly...that could be part of the problem..

Its bolted through a seat bolt... seems to be a good ground to me!
 

BHB

I WILL say things that piss you off!!!
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Posts
914
Reaction score
0
Location
Noo Yawk
Its bolted through a seat bolt... seems to be a good ground to me!

Negative. A coated bolt with possibly some sealer on it attached to a painted seat bracket on top of carpet on top of a painted floor pan. :eek:

Bare metal, directly to the floorpan, with a star washer.

imgp7314.jpg
 
Last edited:

Z71 Kris

Independence...
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
8,984
Reaction score
0
Location
N. East Ohio
You have to see how the seat is attached to the floor. Direct to fram is best but hard to achieve in and small enclosed cab..
 

Alljackedup408

Shut Up Stupid
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
12,624
Reaction score
0
Location
Titusville FL
Its bolted through a seat bolt... seems to be a good ground to me!

Negative. A coated bolt with possibly some sealer on it attached to a painted seat bracket on top of carpet on top of a painted floor pan. :eek:

Bare metal, directly to the floorpan, with a star washer.

imgp7314.jpg

I do believe the surface has been sanded down. Tonight after work I am going to pull it apart and see!
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,722
Posts
1,102,587
Members
4,692
Latest member
Mrjvieira
Back
Top