Gave My Tranny A Treat Today (pic Heavy)

dirtyoldman

I'm now on Medicare,officially old.
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
16,511
Reaction score
3
Location
Saugus,Ca.
Been wanting to do this for a while,so I finally got it done today.

What I saw after removing the pan,not bad.
102_0090.jpg

102_0092.jpg

Tried hard to not to make much a mess,but of course I did :lol:
102_0094.jpg

102_0095.jpg

102_0097.jpg

102_0098.jpg

102_0099.jpg

All done :thumbs:

Went for a test drive,firmer take-offs and shifts.I just changed the filter and the oil in the pan today,might do a full flush next year :dunno:
 

Wyley87

The '96 and I have a LOVE/HATE Relationship
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Posts
1,099
Reaction score
1
Location
Granbury, Tx
Did you go back with an ac delco filter/gasket? I only ask because that's what I used the last time I did mine. Quality was top notch.

You also might look into get a pan with a drain plug. A lot less mess. I was able to get one for mine of of amazon for around $45 with shipping and it holds two extra quarts, it's a 4L60e.

Good job! :thumbs:


Sent from Texas
 

dirtyoldman

I'm now on Medicare,officially old.
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
16,511
Reaction score
3
Location
Saugus,Ca.
Thanks Louis and no I went with the filter(Champion)we have at work and Autozone ATF.If it starts to act weird I guess I'll be doing this again.

I'll look into that pan with the drain plug :thumbs:
 
Last edited:

Wyley87

The '96 and I have a LOVE/HATE Relationship
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Posts
1,099
Reaction score
1
Location
Granbury, Tx
You shouldn't have a problem with it as long it meets the spec which I'm sure it dose. Before I used the ac delco I noticed the gasket that came with the other one would eventually crack. My trans has never shifted any different since the day I put it in. Regardless of what filter I used.


Sent from Texas
 

dirtyoldman

I'm now on Medicare,officially old.
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
16,511
Reaction score
3
Location
Saugus,Ca.
Louis,got a part # or link?I just looked on Amazon and saw some pans that were hundreds of dollars :eek:
 

dirtyoldman

I'm now on Medicare,officially old.
Joined
May 21, 2009
Posts
16,511
Reaction score
3
Location
Saugus,Ca.
I saw that,thought that might be the one you bought.....no pic though.Dorman is good stuff and I wouldn't hesitate to order one,eventually. :thumbs: So,seeing as it holds two more quarts I'd have to assume it's a bit deeper,deep enough to drill a hole into it to put a temp gauge in?
 

Wyley87

The '96 and I have a LOVE/HATE Relationship
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Posts
1,099
Reaction score
1
Location
Granbury, Tx
You could drill a hole in it but I'd put the probe where the drain plug goes. Less likely to leak. I was actually thinking about moving mine there, right now it's in the test port. Here pic of the pan installed on my truck.

esytunes.jpg



Sent from Texas
 
Last edited:

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,709
Posts
1,101,836
Members
4,674
Latest member
Dannytomany
Back
Top