fWONkED Light "Dilemma"

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
i'm not sure how much info I need to include that's pertinent to my problem but, I will try to condense. I was working on my '02 Silvy (replacing the overflow tank) I used the headlights after dark for the last 2 nuts of the air breather box. The next morning I got pulled over for no DRIVER'S side headlight! :gunguy::gunguy: THANKFULLY the LEO simply said to get it fixed with NO ticket. :thumbs: (side note: I've had the truck for bout 5 years and NEVER got fWONkin pulled over. and for that? I was PISSED! I take pride in making sure ALL my lights are functional. Even if it wasn't a law it's my pet peeve!! and for hime to "wast" his time on me when I should have realized it swapped it out for the standard I have in reserve and MAYBE be a few minutes late for work :loser:)

I have HIDs and had put in the replacement bulbs/ballasts a week before no problems. I figured it was it gone out (NOT satisfied with the price OR company but, I digress) Turns out BOTH driver's side was out. I checked the fuse (and swapped with PS nothing I swapped relays (I think 3154? IIRC) anyway there's 3 of the same under there. NOTHING! Is there another fuse/relay I overlooked?

I have a less then 2 year old headlight/dimmer switch assembly but, I don't want to replace it before I run out the other possibilities and was thinking BOTH would be out from that,

Any other thoughts. :dunno:

Thanks in advance. :cheers:
 

OldCracker29

I've been knocked down drug out and left for dead
Joined
May 26, 2009
Posts
76,089
Reaction score
648
Location
NE Ohio
:dunno: I don't know dick about wiring on a vehicle, but I'll give your thread a bump.
 

OldCracker29

I've been knocked down drug out and left for dead
Joined
May 26, 2009
Posts
76,089
Reaction score
648
Location
NE Ohio
Where in the hell are all the electrical guru's at. :D
 

Draenor

KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Posts
5,896
Reaction score
0
Location
Now in Scott,LA
There is a fuse under the hood for left and right side headlights. I don't recall the fuse numbers, but should be 15A. There is one relay for low beams and one for high beams.

The best thing to do is power on the headlights and see if there is power across the fuse. Next the relay, then at the socket itself.
 

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
There is a fuse under the hood for left and right side headlights. I don't recall the fuse numbers, but should be 15A. There is one relay for low beams and one for high beams.

The best thing to do is power on the headlights and see if there is power across the fuse. Next the relay, then at the socket itself.

Thanks Draenor, Here's what i had done before the post to track down /eliminate probs. My ENTIRE driver's side doesn't work. I took a regular 9005 and 9006 plugged them in to the sockets and nada. I swapped the driver's and passenger fuses. Driver's side (with pass. fuse) nothing Passenger side (with driver's side fuse) lit up.

I somehow had a harness for another project. So I have the passenger side 9006 socket with a long harness and relay feeding BOTH driver's side and passenger side low beams.

As for the relay I swapped it with another identical one and same result.

I haven't tried a multi meter but, using the other methods I figured at least was a start.

Any more ideas?

Thanks/ :dunno:

Thanks
 

Draenor

KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Posts
5,896
Reaction score
0
Location
Now in Scott,LA
You'll need the meter to see if there is power at the fuse. If so, then at the socket.

If there is no power at the fuse, you'll have to see if the wiring is bad under the distribution box. If there is power at the fuse and not the socket, there is two possibilities. One is the power wire itself, the other is the ground. You can ohm out the ground to the frame or ground source. Either will determine a break in the wire. You see if the interwebs has a wire diagram. I can provide one, but dont get off work till Wednesday before I can get to my home laptop to pull my GM diagrams.
 

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
Thank you kind robot. :thumbs: I think I have some diagrams saved (and I have the Chilton's too although it's the "new" cheap version that is basically a Haynes) If you have specific to lights that be appreciated if ya have time otherwise I can look too.

In reality what I planned was just start separating from the loom and bundle working up to the distribution block. Since orange is low beam power and purple is high beam power I figure with both using a yellow wire as ground MAYBE they connect (at some point) and that would explain the common problem.

Thanks again, :cheers:
 

ScottyBoy

No, that's not a banana in my pants.
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Posts
13,668
Reaction score
3
Location
Shreveport
If you have not already done so, you need to permanently ground the yellow wires. That will make your low beams stay on with the high beams, that way all four headlights stay lit instead of the lows turning off when you turn your high beams on. Doing this mod "may" also solve your problem as well if its a ground issue.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,709
Posts
1,101,836
Members
4,674
Latest member
Dannytomany
Back
Top