1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Big Three upgrade Question

Discussion in 'Technical' started by bubbatrucklover, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. bubbatrucklover

    bubbatrucklover Heavy Metal Red Neck

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
    A while back I bought a 200 amp (100 amp idle) alternator. At the time I couldn't find
    2 gauge wire locally without buying a $70 kit. So I used 1 gauge.

    [​IMG]

    As you can see I replaced the factory wire and fusible link with new and an in line fuse. I now have found several on line sources for red 2 gauge by the foot reasonably priced so would there be any benefit to say switch to 2 sets of 2 gauge wires with fuses?
     
  2. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    wait what? Didn't you use 1awg on the whole thing? if so why use smaller wire? When I did mine on my old Sierra I used 0awg on the whole thing accept the fused wire, I used 4 there for what ever reason. The only reason would be if the 2 awg was a lot better quality.
     
  3. Nick The Great

    Nick The Great The lead sled dog is the only one with a decent vi

    Posts:
    13,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    It's not heaven . . . it's Iowa!
    Yeah I thought guys used 0 awg on that too :dunno:
     
  4. daddy

    daddy I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    46,662
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    I used 40 strands of 28 AWG.
     
  5. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    did you reverse braid them, if not stay safe, that shits burning to ground...
     
  6. The_Chupacabra

    The_Chupacabra Don't worry, I only drink goat blood...

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    3,999
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    :lolup:

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. daddy

    daddy I'm too LAZY to Choose a Custom Title!!!

    Posts:
    46,662
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    :lol:
     
  8. CJ Hungus

    CJ Hungus Moderator

    Posts:
    24,025
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Location:
    Ham Lake, MN
    :crackup:
     
  9. bubbatrucklover

    bubbatrucklover Heavy Metal Red Neck

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
    Sorry I was a little tired when I typed it and didn't finish my thought/question. When it's done most people that I've seen keep the existing stock wire/fusible link in addition to the extra add on.

    I replaced the factory with all new and was wondering on the benefit of adding an additional line and fuse. I used two sets of 2 gauge as an example 'cause it would be easier to try to get the boot to fit around and cover the lugs. I NEVER added the extra wire as I had replaced the original with the bigger gauge.

    I think it is actually ought gauge I used (don't know why I said 1:dunno:). I guess if I can't fit a second one then I could go with a single 2 gauge that would actually "take the place of" the factory wiring. Then I would have an "actual" big three instead of just replacing stock.

    Sorry if my questioning makes me sound like a tard. Some of the "new" tricks and mods escapes an old fWONk like me.:( :lol:
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  10. Z71 Kris

    Z71 Kris Independence...

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    8,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    N. East Ohio
    Im still not 100% sure what you are asking. From the picture it looks right. From to alt to battery, battery to frame, battery to engine block. The only reason to replace fused line to the factory distribution block is for ascetics. The only reason to run a double from alt to battery is if your alt at full power is more amps than your wire can handle. Good wire is usually 150-200, premium wire is 200-300 (usually)

    sent from my galaxy note 2
     

Share This Page