Automatic Windshield Wiper Delete??

mfennema

Boilermaker Through and Through
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Posts
896
Reaction score
2
Location
Florida
Does anyone know if there is a way to change your auto windshield wipers from automatic to a certain setting? Its a huge pet peeve of mine that if its barely misting the wipers seem to go beserk and skip across the windshield at a speed that is much to fast for the amount of precipitation on the glass.

I am looking for a way to make my wipers go back to how they were in the old days where you could pick a speed/delay and set them where you wanted. Any ideas??

Edit: 07 GMC Sierra
 

Texas Jim

Texas..It's a Whole 'nuther Country
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Posts
49,927
Reaction score
0
Location
Ft. Worth
This is probably a dumb question... but do you have them turned all the way to the LAST DETENT before being totally off??

My Caddy has the same type wipers... the different positions on the stalk, there are about 5 of them, control how sensitive they are to the windshield getting wet.
 

Darkanion

The space intentionally left blank.
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Posts
41,297
Reaction score
361
Location
North Texas
From what I'm reading online, it looks like you can unplug the connector that goes into the Rainsense Module and the wiper switch is supposed to work as a delay, not detection..

Perhaps someone else can fill in some details about where the module is located, though..
 

mfennema

Boilermaker Through and Through
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Posts
896
Reaction score
2
Location
Florida
Jim - Sometimes I can turn them all the way down and they are still going at full blast because the rainsense module is telling it that there is more water than there is. Doesn't make any difference what position I have the switch in.

Thanks Michael. I like the feature, so I am almost wondering if I can put a switch in to switch the feature on and off. So when it's fWONking up I can turn the rainsense off on the fly and make it work properly, but all the other times leave it on and do its thing.
 

Darkanion

The space intentionally left blank.
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Posts
41,297
Reaction score
361
Location
North Texas
Thanks Michael. I like the feature, so I am almost wondering if I can put a switch in to switch the feature on and off. So when it's fWONking up I can turn the rainsense off on the fly and make it work properly, but all the other times leave it on and do its thing.

No problem! :cheers:

The RainSense wipers is one of the features I miss from the truck.. :lol:
 

mfennema

Boilermaker Through and Through
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Posts
896
Reaction score
2
Location
Florida
If you would happen to come across a wiring diagram or the location of the module please let me know!

Thanks again
 

The_Chupacabra

Don't worry, I only drink goat blood...
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Posts
4,000
Reaction score
6
Location
Wichita, KS
The Module is behind the rear view mirror. I personally like the Rainsense wipers when they work correctly. :dunno:

I had a hell of a time to get them to work.
 

The_Chupacabra

Don't worry, I only drink goat blood...
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Posts
4,000
Reaction score
6
Location
Wichita, KS
Did you recently get your windshield replaced? If they have any bubbles in between the sensor and the windshield you will have problems, Probably why they quit putting them on the vehicles.
 

mfennema

Boilermaker Through and Through
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Posts
896
Reaction score
2
Location
Florida
Nope haven't had it replaced. Just never has worked real well. I think I am going to figure out how to put in an on/off switch so I can turn it off when it isn't working right (i.e. winter). Thanks for giving me the location of the module!
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
28,722
Posts
1,102,587
Members
4,692
Latest member
Mrjvieira
Back
Top