1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 Hi mod with HIDs

Discussion in 'Tech How To' started by bubbatrucklover, Dec 26, 2015.

  1. bubbatrucklover

    bubbatrucklover Heavy Metal Red Neck

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
    So I believe awhile back I posted this question but I will ask again. (If there is a thread I apologize I will look also:thumbs:) I did the highbeam mod quit some time ago but, when I try to incorporate all 4 HIDs I blow fuses. (due to the groundeing I guess). :dunno:

    Has anyone successfully pulled this off?

    Thanks :cheers:

    Jim :)
     
  2. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,053
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    I did it on my '05 Blazer, with no issues... What year is your truck?

    GM has this weird habit of switching polarities on some of their things, so you might have to take a voltmeter to the factory harness and see.

    Most HID ballasts aren't capable of switching polarities.
     
  3. bubbatrucklover

    bubbatrucklover Heavy Metal Red Neck

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
    Sorry I'm a dumbass drperry. I KNOW better to post my year. :loser:

    It's an '02 Silverado. Maybe I was doing something else that caused the fuse to blow but, I was thinking it was that reverse polarity BS. :dunno:

    I have to fix my volt meter to track down a parasitic battery drain also. How do I go about testing the polarity? Stick the ends in the headlight plug?

    Thanks :cheers:

    Jim
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015
  4. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,053
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    No worries, if yours is a 2002, it's the same as my Blazer, lol. How did you do the 4hi mod? Ground the yellow wire?


    And yep, that's how you check the voltage, lol


    I think I ran wires right from the headlight switch to a relay when I went to HID... Make sure your DRL's are disabled
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2015
  5. bubbatrucklover

    bubbatrucklover Heavy Metal Red Neck

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
    Never disabled DRLs never had them come on since day one of owning the truck like 4-5 years ago. :dunno:

    Yep grounded the yellow wire.

    As for the HIDs I have 4 ballasts 1 per light. I just plugged into the factory socket. I have been running the lows for at least 2 years no probs. I might have to revisit the project. I'm pretty sure I swapped ballasts and lights to see if bulbs and/or ballasts were an issue at the time but, I could be wrong and missed something simple. :rolleyes: lol
     
  6. drperry

    drperry Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!

    Posts:
    13,053
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    Unplug everything and see if you still pop fuses
     

Share This Page