4 Hi mod with HIDs

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
So I believe awhile back I posted this question but I will ask again. (If there is a thread I apologize I will look also:thumbs:) I did the highbeam mod quit some time ago but, when I try to incorporate all 4 HIDs I blow fuses. (due to the groundeing I guess). :dunno:

Has anyone successfully pulled this off?

Thanks :cheers:

Jim :)
 

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
I did it on my '05 Blazer, with no issues... What year is your truck?

GM has this weird habit of switching polarities on some of their things, so you might have to take a voltmeter to the factory harness and see.

Most HID ballasts aren't capable of switching polarities.
 

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
Sorry I'm a dumbass drperry. I KNOW better to post my year. :loser:

It's an '02 Silverado. Maybe I was doing something else that caused the fuse to blow but, I was thinking it was that reverse polarity BS. :dunno:

I have to fix my volt meter to track down a parasitic battery drain also. How do I go about testing the polarity? Stick the ends in the headlight plug?

Thanks :cheers:

Jim
 
Last edited:

drperry

Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
13,099
Reaction score
101
Location
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
No worries, if yours is a 2002, it's the same as my Blazer, lol. How did you do the 4hi mod? Ground the yellow wire?


And yep, that's how you check the voltage, lol


I think I ran wires right from the headlight switch to a relay when I went to HID... Make sure your DRL's are disabled
 
Last edited:

bubbatrucklover

Heavy Metal Red Neck
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Posts
1,200
Reaction score
0
Location
Jacksonville,Fl U.S. of A.
Never disabled DRLs never had them come on since day one of owning the truck like 4-5 years ago. :dunno:

Yep grounded the yellow wire.

As for the HIDs I have 4 ballasts 1 per light. I just plugged into the factory socket. I have been running the lows for at least 2 years no probs. I might have to revisit the project. I'm pretty sure I swapped ballasts and lights to see if bulbs and/or ballasts were an issue at the time but, I could be wrong and missed something simple. :rolleyes: lol
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
28,735
Posts
1,103,127
Members
4,709
Latest member
BeaGeiger9
Back
Top