Truck Forum - Truck Mod Central Bulldog Care Care featuring Adams Polishes

Go Back   Truck Forum - Truck Mod Central > LET'S TALK TRUCKS! > TMC TRUCK & SUV > 12V Electronics

Sponsored Ads
Register to remove these ads.

12V Electronics

Need some help selecting a big cutoff switch.


This is a discussion on Need some help selecting a big cutoff switch. within the 12V Electronics forums, part of the TMC TRUCK & SUV category!
Originally Posted by drperry Find a nice switch to run a high amp solenoid Probably not a good idea, and ...

Audio / Video / Alarms / Lighting / Etc.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  Go to top #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:04 AM
I'm too LAZY to Choose a ... oh fuck it...
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 3,682
Vehicles
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
Find a nice switch to run a high amp solenoid
Probably not a good idea, and I'll explain why:

You'd have to wire it so the relay/solenoid is only energized when the winch is going to be used, but the current draw of the winch being used will probably cause enough voltage drop to make the relay drop out. Net result? Chattering and arcing which will quickly destroy the relay.

Now, if it's a dual battery system, and the two batteries are isolated, then the relay can go on one and the winch on the other.
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 11:29 AM
drperry's Avatar
Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
 
 
Real Name: Sinned
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 12,498
Vehicles
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carneyman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longshot270 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
Find a nice switch to run a high amp solenoid
X2, or you can look at marine battery selector switches.
X3. I wouldn't want to run the actual 2 gauge wire into the cab. Too much of a chance of something shorting it out/hitting and breaking it.
Y'all don't use fuses?
It's no different than sub/amp wiring...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 03:53 PM
Lonesome7.3's Avatar
By whatever means necessary …
 
 
Real Name: Louis
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, GA
Age: 40
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Lonesome7.3
I want to keep it simple, but I do kind of like the idea of a small wire in the cab instead.
__________________
“Surrender means that the history of this heroic struggle will be written by the enemy, that our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers; learn from Northern school books their version of the war; and taught to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects of derision.”
- Patrick Cleburne
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 04:04 PM
Carneyman's Avatar
TMC Dog Watcher
 
 
Real Name: Eric
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Odessa, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 4,137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carneyman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longshot270 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
Find a nice switch to run a high amp solenoid
X2, or you can look at marine battery selector switches.
X3. I wouldn't want to run the actual 2 gauge wire into the cab. Too much of a chance of something shorting it out/hitting and breaking it.
Y'all don't use fuses?
It's no different than sub/amp wiring...
We don't need no stinkin fuses.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 Z71 2008 Chevy Impala SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by King of the Hill View Post
TRAVIS: Dangit, Ox, you're confusin' realism with symbolism again.
OX: I'm about to symbolize my gun to your head.
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Lonesome7.3's Avatar
By whatever means necessary …
 
 
Real Name: Louis
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, GA
Age: 40
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Lonesome7.3
I look into the solenoid thing a bit further. I was trying to keep it simple, but a single power wire running into the cab sounds easier to install. If I do go that route, I am guessing I do not need a fuse.
__________________
“Surrender means that the history of this heroic struggle will be written by the enemy, that our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers; learn from Northern school books their version of the war; and taught to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects of derision.”
- Patrick Cleburne
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #16 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2015, 08:27 PM
drperry's Avatar
Fox 1! Fox 2! Fox 3!
 
 
Real Name: Sinned
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 12,498
Vehicles
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You should always run fuses...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #17 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:32 AM
Lonesome7.3's Avatar
By whatever means necessary …
 
 
Real Name: Louis
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, GA
Age: 40
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Lonesome7.3
What type of solenoid should I use? Where in the line should the fuse be? In the wire to the switch? Or do I run a large one on the cable?
__________________
“Surrender means that the history of this heroic struggle will be written by the enemy, that our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers; learn from Northern school books their version of the war; and taught to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects of derision.”
- Patrick Cleburne
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #18 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2015, 10:35 AM
Draenor's Avatar
KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!
  
 
Real Name: John
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Now in Scott,LA
Posts: 6,768
Vehicles
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Solenoids usually are for high amperage applications and are not fused. If you were to use on it will need to be rated pretty high.

You can always run a fused circuit to the switch lead.
__________________
04 2500HD Whippled 2.3
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #19 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2015, 10:56 AM
Lonesome7.3's Avatar
By whatever means necessary …
 
 
Real Name: Louis
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, GA
Age: 40
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Lonesome7.3
I have a bunch of these lying around.

http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CA...solon_next.jpg

Would that do the trick or is there a difference? It would be nice to use a stock piece.
__________________
“Surrender means that the history of this heroic struggle will be written by the enemy, that our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers; learn from Northern school books their version of the war; and taught to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects of derision.”
- Patrick Cleburne
Reply With Quote
  Go to top #20 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2015, 11:50 AM
Draenor's Avatar
KILL ALL HUMANS!!!!
  
 
Real Name: John
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Now in Scott,LA
Posts: 6,768
Vehicles
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I don't see why it shouldn't.
__________________
04 2500HD Whippled 2.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.2.3 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.